Trying Too Hard Blues

Trying Too Hard Blues

I teach English in high school and college
Been doing it for twenty years
All I want to do is increase the knowledge
But it feels like no one even cares

I give directions to help students get it
Examples of things they can see
But they forget it as soon as I’ve said it
And I realize, unfortunately

That I’ve been trying too hard, trying so hard,
Not getting my desired reward
Working so hard, working too hard
Falling on a double-edged sword.

I make lesson plans to help them discover
The wisdom they all have inside
But when they try to find answers
It’s like their brains have shriveled and died

I spend hours marking up student papers,
Showing them things they should change
And then when I hand back student papers
They just keep doing the same.

And I’ve been trying so hard, trying too hard,
Not getting any sort of reward,
Been working too hard, working so hard
Falling on a double-edged sword

So it’s time to give up, I can’t do no more,
I’ve been trying for twenty long years
The time is now here for me to find the door
My path marked with drizzling tears

It doesn’t seem to matter what I try to do
All the joy is gone from this job
I want to be laughing and shouting with joy
But instead all I can do is just sob

‘Cause I’ve been trying so hard, been trying so hard,
Not getting any sort of reward,
Been working so hard, really working so hard
But this job is a double-edged sword.

 

[NaPoWriMo – Day 12]

Leave a Reply

