Paper Clip’s Lament

I did my job
Just as you asked
Held things together
Made sure things stayed put
Didn’t break loose
Or get bent out of shape

I did my job
I was everything you wanted
Everything you needed
I was there for you
Exactly the way you’d hoped
Just holding on

I did my job
But what thanks did I get?
An award? A certificate?
Cash bonus? Shares?
I didn’t even get a simple thank you.
Quite the opposite.

I did my job
And you set me aside
You tossed me away
You cast me aside
You forgot about me
As if I didn’t even matter anymore.

But I did my job!

Leave a Reply

