Poem A Day: Departure

“Tickets, please.”

I’m restless in my seat, haven’t had a bite to eat,

“Tickets, please.”

fiddling with my feet, sweating beneath the heat.

“Tickets, please.”

I’m don’t know why I’m cold, I should be feeling bold,

“Tickets, please.”

But all I feel is old, wondering what these futures hold.

“Tickets, please.”

Perhaps I should have stayed, for all the dues I’ve paid,

“Tickets, please.”

But that’s not the deal I made, not the cards I’ve played.

“Tickets, please.”

So I’ve devised a master plan, to learn from life whatever I can.

“Tickets, please.”

It’s time a better life began! I give my ticket to the man.

Leave a Reply

