Poem: “Resistance”

Resistance

I don’t want to do this, but I must –

I mean I want to, but it’s just

Such an incredible pain in the neck

That I keep thinking, why the heck

Would anyone choose to do this thing?

What praises will it bring?

What appreciation will occur

If this silly task I can endure?

And then I realize this isn’t for you

Or him or her or anyone who

Take the time to read these silly words:

It’s all for me – how absurd

And what a sinful waste of time

To measure rhythm and practice rhyme.

I’d give it up except I promised I

Would give this silly thing a try.

So here’s my poem for April first –

Not my best, but not my worst.

Leave a Reply

