Question of the Day

516HiKW10fL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

I got this book last year when Writers Digest was having a big sale. I got like 20 books from that sale, so this one went on the shelf – with 19 others – to be read later. I happened to see it today on the shelf and I thought, “You know, I’m not writing nearly enough.” And then I thought, “You know, I could use this book for writing prompts every day. Just make it my business to sit down and answer one question per day until I get through the whole book. Why not?”

Why not indeed.

So here’s the deal: I am going to work my way through the book, answering one question per day. Ideally, I will write between 1000 and 2000 words per day. The funny thing about writing as that you never know what memories come to mind when you sit down and just start writing. I’m going to be mining my subconscious for answers to questions, and I have no idea what’s going to come out. Isn’t that exciting?

You could do it too. I’ll post the question, you do the writing. On your own blog, of course. I’ll read yours if you read mine – deal?

One note: this writing is not going to be in any way “final draft” form. I am just going to be writing up the top of my head, going willy-nilly all over the place. This is okay. This is a good way to write, to get past that superficial mind that drives the body and to get into that deeper consciousness that motivates the soul. So there going to be errors and inconsistencies. Point them out if you’d like, but be aware that I don’t care. If I decide anything ever needs to get published, I’ll polish it up then. Another reason my writing may have errors – and you may see some real doozies in this – is that I use a program called Dragon dictation to do any sort of lengthy writing. Dragon Dictation allows me to talk into a microphone and see my words changed into type. I don’t always remember to go back in to see if it heard me correctly and typed the words right.

Anyhow, I’d love it if you wanted to join me on this journey. Leave me a comment and let me know that you going to, and we’ll be writing buddies 🙂

Leave a Reply

